Groundhog Day

sunrise under cloudy sky illustration
Photo by Public Domain Pictures on Pexels.com

I’m currently reading Keep Going: 10 Ways to Stay Creative in Good Times and Bad by Austin Kleon. As you can see from my blog, Kleon’s message is a timely one for me; it’s been a long time since I felt like writing much here. But this slim volume contains sound advice for anyone facing writer’s block, difficult times, or a perceived loss of creativity.

This passage especially speaks to me:

We have so little control over our lives. The only thing we can really control is what we spend our days on. What we work on and how hard we work on it. It might seem like a stretch, but I really think the best thing you can do if you want to make art is to pretend you’re starring in your own remake of Groundhog Day:  Yesterday’s over, tomorrow may never come, there’s just today and what you can do with it.

Here’s to the possibilities of today!